Advanced Search

PBS Books Presents: What to Read this Summer with Booklist Reader

Join PBS Books and Booklist as we dive into all the must-read adult fiction books this summer. Whether you’re on the hunt for a quick weekend read, looking for a new series, or thinking about re-discovering a favorite author, there will be no shortage of great picks in this can’t-miss episode. So, grab a pen as we help you create your Summer Reading List! Watch the recording above or on the PBS Books Facebook page.

Booklist Review of the Day

Slow Dance
by Rainbow Rowell

​Divorced, nearing 40, and living in her childhood home with her mom and two young kids, grammar-school drama teacher Shiloh practically pulls herself together with duct tape when she heads to her high-school friend Mikey’s (second) wedding in their North Omaha neighborhood, hoping for the best—the best being that she’ll see Cary, her and Mikey’s third musketeer (and, okay, more).




Reviews in This Issue

Current Features

High-Demand Read-alikes: Slow Burn Love Stories
by Annie Bostrom

​There’s nothing quite like the deliciously delayed satisfaction of a slow-burn love story like Shiloh and Cary’s in Rainbow Rowell’s Slow Dance. From sweet romances to more sprawling, literary works, these stylish, tender, and heartfelt read-alikes take their time drawing out the conflicts and reunions of true love, for deliriously good reading.

The Booklist Carnegie Interview: Roxanna Asgarian
by Aryssa Damron

​Aryssa Damron, a librarian in Washington, DC, and the chair of the 2024 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence selection committee, had some questions for Roxanna Asgarian, winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction for We Were Once a Family: A Story of Love, Death, and Child Removal in America. Here is their conversation.

Talking With: Mara Rockliff and Melissa Sweet
by Sarah Hunter

There have been a number of picture book biographies about Pop artist and art teacher Sister Corita Kent in the past several years, but Mara Rockliff and Melissa Sweet’s Signs of Hope stands out from the crowd thanks to its surprising narrator—a group of her students—and Sweet’s distinctive collage artwork. I caught up with Rockliff and Sweet to learn more about the Pop Art Nun and why she’s such a good subject for a picture-book biography.r

Shelf Care Interview logoBook Club Resources from Holiday House!

Do you run a book club at your library? Are you ready to take your library’s book club to the next level? Then check out these amazing resources from Holiday House!

The Booklist Printz Interview: A. S. King
by Sarah Hunter

This isn’t the first time A. S. King has been awarded the Printz medal; four years ago, we interviewed her about her Printz-winning novel, Dig. But for the acclaimed author, who’s made a mark with her surreal brand of fiction that raises powerful questions about identity, emotional vulnerability, and the importance of genuine human connection, The Collectors is a wholly new kind of project, an anthology of original stories by an impressive roster of authors, all of whom were encouraged to embrace weirdness.

The Booklist Carnegie Interview: Amanda Peters
by Aryssa Damron

​Aryssa Damron, a librarian in Washington, DC, and the chair of the 2024 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence Selection Committee, had some questions for this year’s winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction, Amanda Peters. Here’s their conversation.

photo of Joanna Lowell10 Questions for Joanna Lowell
By John Charles

Joanna Lowell lives among the fig trees in North Carolina, where she teaches in the English department at Wake Forest University. When she’s not writing historical romance, she writes collections and novels as Joanna Ruocco.

shelf care logoShelf Care Episode 35: After the Diversity Audit, and Farewell, Maggie (sad emoji)
By Susan Maguire

On this episode of Shelf Care: The Podcast, host Susan Maguire sat down with Johanna Boyle and Marie Mulder from the Kent District Library in Michigan about the necessary work of the diversity audit, and what to do once the audit is done (hint: it involves spreadsheets).

Digital Editions

FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
^